Stay to Shine

The Endurance Motorcycle Championship officially started in 1960. At the time, it was not a world championship but an FIM Cup organized with four events: Thruxton in England, Montjuich in Spain, Warsage in Belgium and the Bol d'Or in France. In 1976, the competition became a European championship, and then in 1980 a world championship. Hervé Moinneau and Marc Fontan were the first riders to win the world title, the two Frenchmen teaming up on a Honda RCB. The discipline by then had become very popular, the Japanese manufacturers seeing it as a formidable showcase to promote their new machines. Until 2000, the title of world champion was awarded to the rider who had scored the most points in the various events. From 2001 onwards, it was the team that entered that won the title. The teams also expanded from two to three riders. The World Endurance Championship has different race formats. Some take place over twenty-four hours, others over six, eight or twelve hours. Races lasting 1,000 km have also existed in the history of this competition which in 1989 and 1990 lost the world championship label due to the insufficient number of events. Today, bonus points are awarded to the top ten teams based on their position after eight hours and sixteen races. There are two categories, the WEC, and the Superstock. While the regulations of the first are close to that of the Superbike world championship, that of the second only allows a minimum of modifications compared with series models.


By continuing browsing this website, you accept the use of cookies or other tracers for statistics of visits to optimize the functionality of the site.

For more information and for tracers settings.