Peak of the Pyramid

Established in 1949 under the aegis of the International Motorcycling Federation, the world speed championships are the peak of the pyramid in motorcycle sports. The competition of course has changed over the years, particularly with regard to the different categories that make up its program. Today, there are three such categories: MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3. MotoGP is the premier class, with the best riders in the world.

The machines are prototypes with a 1000 cc, 4-stroke engine. Moto2, created in 2010 to replace the 250 cc 2-stroke engine class, consists of motorcycles with a free chassis and a single 4-stroke engine, developed this year by Triumph and provided by the promoter of the championship. The engine capacity has switched from 600 to 765 cc. Moto3 has replaced the 125 category since 2012. Moto3 pits machines against each other equipped with a prototype chassis and a single-cylinder 4-stroke 250 cc engine.

The contenders in the Moto2 and the Moto3 championships are mainly young riders who are cutting their teeth at the international level. The MotoGP World Championship features 19 Grand Prix events from March to November. Each event takes place on the same format: free practice sessions on Friday, qualifying sessions on Saturday, warm-ups and races on Sunday. The starting grids are composed of lines of three riders. Points are awarded to the first 15 riders to cross the finish line. The one who has the most at the end of the season is awarded the title of world champion.


By continuing browsing this website, you accept the use of cookies or other tracers for statistics of visits to optimize the functionality of the site.

For more information and for tracers settings.