Skip to content

Launched in September 2014 by Formula E Holdings and the FIA, the FIA Formula E Championship’s primary objective is to promote the use of zero-emission vehicles in city centres by staging races – known as ‘e-prix’ – that are held for the most part around temporary street circuits. Beijing, Hong Kong, Buenos Aires, Montreal, Paris, Rome, Berlin, New York and Miami are amongst the major cities that have already hosted the series.

An revised format

Season 5 of the FIA Formula E Championship features a number of new developments, notably regarding the race cars. Two cars are no longer required to cover an E_Prix following the introduction of more powerful, new-generation single-seaters which deliver longer range. Although the format of free practice hasn't changed (two 45-minute sessions and one 30-minute session), the qualifying process has been adjusted slightly with drivers split into four groups based on championship positions and the six fastest going through to the Super Pole shootout. The duration of all races is now 45 minutes plus one lap.


You must accept Social Network cookies to view this video.

An involved audience

The cars themselves deliver a power output of 250kW (338hp) in free practice and qualifying trim, compared with the previous maximum of 200kW. During races, drivers are required to run two different modes, namely 'normal' mode (capped at 200kW) and 'Attack' mode (225kW). The latter is to be activated when passing through bespoke zones, the number and length of which depend on the configuration of each circuit. Maximum energy recovery now stands at 250kW, instead of 150kW. The FanBoost system allows three drivers chosen by the public via the internet to benefit from a single temporary power boost to as much as 250kW.

Finally, the points system is unchanged, with 25 points awarded to the winner, 18 points for second place, 15 points for third place, then 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1 points for the other top-10 finishers. Qualifying on pole position earns three additional points.

Number of entries

  • 25 drivers
  • 9 different nationalities (Sweden, Brasil, France, Argentina, Great-Britain, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Portugal, New-Zealand, Netherlands, Switzerland)

Top of the bill

The manufacturers

  • DS Performance
  • Audi 
  • BMW
  • Citroën
  • Jaguar
  • Mercedes
  • NIO
  • Nissan
  • Porsche
  • Venturi
36 LOTTERER André (DEU), DS e-tense FE19 team DS TECHEETAH, action during the 2019 Formula E championship in Rome, Italy, from April 12-13