Skip to content

The FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) was created in 2012 through a partnership between the Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO) and the Fédération international de l'automobile (FIA). It relaunched and revived long-distance car racing, 20 years after the end of the World Sportscar Championship (WSC: 1953-1992).
Each year, in different classes, it recognises the drivers, teams and manufacturers that have scored the most points in their respective categories.


For the 2019-2020 season, the WEC World Championship involves nine races across five continents. The race times vary depending on the track, from 4h for the shortest (Silverstone, Shanghai) to 24h for the longest (Le Mans). Points are awarded to the first 10 drivers to cross the finish line, based on the following scale: 25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2, 1 pt*. Each car finishing after 10th place is awarded 0.5 points. Lastly, an additional point is awarded in each category to the teams and drivers that take pole position.

* A specific scale is applied for two races:
- 1000 Miles of Sebring: 32, 23, 19, 15, 13, 10, 8, 5, 3, 2 pts. After 10th place: 1 pt.
- 24 Hours of Le Mans: 38, 27, 23, 18, 15, 12, 9, 6, 3, 2 pts. After 10th place: 1 pt.

World Endurance Championship

World Endurance Championship
You must accept Social Network cookies to view this video.



The WEC closed-cockpit cars race in four different categories: two categories for prototypes (LMP - Le Mans Prototypes) – vehicles created exclusively for the endurance race – and two categories for modified production models (LMGTE - Le Mans Grand Touring Endurance).

The drivers are split into four groups based on their track record: Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze. This classification makes it possible to define the crews that can compete in each category.


This category involves prototype cars developed exclusively for the WEC competition and complying with the technical regulations set by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO). The main competitors in this category are manufacturers, but independent private teams also take part.


  • Only 4-stroke engines with reciprocating pistons are authorised (petrol or diesel).
  • Maximum capacity: 5,500cc (except for LMP1-Hybrid vehicles which are not subject to restrictions)
  • Minimum weight: 833kg (for LMP1-Hybrid vehicles: 878kg).
  • Fuel tank capacity:
    - Petrol 62.3 litres with ERS
    - 75 litres without ERS
    - Diesel 50.1 litres with ERS


Bronze drivers are not accepted.


This category is particularly popular with independent private teams. All participants must use the same engine: currently the naturally-aspirated V8 4.0L 600hp engine developed by Gibson. Only four chassis are homologated for races: Oreca, Ligier-Onroak Automotive, Dallara and Riley Tech/Multimatic.


  • The prototype’s production cost, excluding its electronic equipment and engine, must not exceed €483,000
  • Capacity: 4.2 litre 600hp V8.
  • Minimum weight: 930kg
  • Fuel tank capacity: 75 litres


a crew of two or three drivers must include at least one Silver or Bronze driver.

LMGTE (Pro/Am)

This includes sports models from leading manufacturers: Ferrari, Porsche, Chevrolet…

The LMGTE Pro is the only category reserved for factory teams. They are made up exclusively of professional drivers. Vehicles are based on a road car with at least 100 units built (25 for a “small manufacturer”, 300 for a carbon chassis). The “racing” version keeps the same lines as the “production” model that it is based on. The engine must keep its original location, direction and positioning. However, it can be moved back for cars when at least 2,500 units are produced during 12 consecutive months.

As opposed to the “Pro” class, “Am” refers to the GTE class reserved for amateurs. From a technical perspective, the cars from the GTE Am class comply with the same regulations as the GTE Pro, but they must have existed for at least one year. This means that they are not able to benefit from the very latest developments. This enables the amateur drivers to compete with the professionals (LMGTE Pro) on equal terms.


  • Maximum capacity: 5500cc
  • Minimum weight: 1245kg
  • Fuel tank capacity: 90 litres

LMGTE Pro crews: there are no restrictions for the composition of crews.

LMGTE Am crews: at least one Bronze driver and one Bronze or Silver driver.


  • 113 drivers
  • 26 different nationalities


Total number of laps completed by all the participants during the 2018-2019 season


  • Aston Martin
  • Ferrari
  • Porsche
  • Toyota
Journée Test 24H du Mans - France - 2019